read it: eleanor & park

15795357

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Title: Eleanor & Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Book Number: 13 out of 75 (as part of my 101 in 1001 journey)

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆  (One star = couldn’t finish; two stars = didn’t like; three stars = enjoyable; four stars = great read; five stars = fantastic)

Summary: Park never expected for the new girl, with her red hair and unlikely fashion choices, to become his first love – but she did. Brought together by bus rides, comic books, and music, Eleanor and Park not only fell in love, but became best friends. It’s not a new concept, two teenagers falling madly in love, but what is unique about Eleanor and Park are the challenges they face. While Park’s parents are devoted to each other and their children, maintaining a safe and loving home, Eleanor’s family life is chaotic, full of poverty and fear. Pair that with bullies at school, and Park become Eleanor’s main source of stability and love – a role he gladly accepts, and his parents slowly start to share.

Thoughts: I enjoyed this book a great deal, and I’m glad I did – I picked it for my book club’s January meeting! First of all, it’s set in 1986, and I just have a thing for books that are set the past, but aren’t really “historical” novels (similar to Rainbow Rowell’s book, Attachments, which I LOVE). Rowell does a fantastic job of portraying the intensity and sincerity of teenage love. She also did a wonderful job of developing characters the reader can connect with and root for. The story is told in chapters that alternate between Eleanor and Park’s point of view, which I think really fleshed out both their characters and the depth of their love for each other. I didn’t give this book five stars because I wasn’t sure how I felt about the very end of the book. I keep going back and forth on whether I’m satisfied with it or if I wish there had been more. Nonetheless, I am pumped that this book will be a movie in the near future!

Have you read Eleanor and Park? What did you think? If I liked Eleanor and Park and other books by Rainbow Rowell, what else would you recommend?

Are you on GoodreadsI am. Let’s be friends!

(above image source)

Leave a Reply

