Read It: The Cuckoo’s Calling

16160797

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Title: The Cuckoo’s Calling

Author: Robert Galbraith, otherwise known as J. K. Rowling

Book Number: 1 out of 75 (as part of my 101 Things in 1001 Days journey)

Rating:  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ (One star = couldn’t finish; two stars = didn’t like; three stars = enjoyable; four stars = great read; five stars = fantastic)

Summary: Cormoran Strike is down on his luck. Having sustained a serious injury while serving in Afghanistan, he has returned to  London and opened his own struggling private detective agency. Already stressed with the debt he’s accumulated, Strike suddenly finds himself homeless when he and his long-term girlfriend finally call it quits. Fortunately for Strike, his luck is about to turn around. On the very day he finds himself now living out of his office and ignoring his lenders’ calls, a man named John Bistrow enters and begs him for help. Bistrow’s adopted sister, Lulu Landry, was a world-famous supermodel who fell to her death months earlier. Though ruled a suicide, Bistrow is convinced the police are wrong and Lulu was murdered. Strike, despite his doubts, accepts the case and soon finds himself sorting through the lives and secrets of multimillionaires. With the help of his temporary secretary Robin, Strike must prove to everyone Lulu was indeed murdered…before more innocent people fall to their death.

Thoughts: I’m a sucker for a good mystery. I usually read more lighthearted ones such as the Stephanie Plum or Heather Wells novels, but I was drawn to this book for a pretty common reason: It was actually written by J. K. Rowling, who has more than proven herself as one of the best storytellers of our lifetime. I have to say, though, it is not obvious it is written by her. Is it written in a descriptive, engaging, well-thought out manner? Absolutely. But while I was reading I didn’t feel like I was reading something written by an author I had read before. Every now and then I read a passage and thought, “I can see J. K. Rowling’s touch here,” but I doubt I would have thought that if I was reading it without knowledge of the true author. I think she did an excellent job of writing a totally different genre for a different audience, as do many other readers who wrote rave reviews of the novel before her identity was leaked. The character development was superb. While the actual storyline of investigating and solving the mystery could have felt slow at times, my attention was strongly held by the characters’ interactions and the singular personality of Strike. I especially enjoyed that while most the attention was focused on the main character of Strike, that Robin, his secretary and sort-of deputy, was given specific focus at times. It added depth to the story and perspective on Strike. Overall, I loved this book and eagerly await its sequel due out this year.

 

Have you read The Cuckoo’s Calling? What did you think? What about The Casual Vacancy, J.K. Rowling’s first post-Harry Potter adult novel? I received both as Christmas gifts and I’m excited to read The Casual Vacancy soon, too.

Are you on Goodreads? I am. Let’s be friends!

Above image source

Leave a Reply

