31 Day Blog Challenge: Day 6

For the month of March, I am participating in Fabulous Finds by Tiffany’s 31 Day Blog Challenge. Today’s prompt is: your last random act of kindness.

So far I have been really enjoying this blog challenge. Today’s post, however, I did not enjoy as much. I sat down to write it and just kept staring at my screen. I couldn’t immediately pull to the forefront of my mind my last random act of kindess – or a ROAK, if you will. I mean, I have done small and courteous things, like hold the door open for those behind me, smile at strangers when I walk by in the grocery store, point out the size of pants a person was looking for in the style I heard them say they wanted, etc. And while these are all random and sweet and brighten others’ day, and could potentially be considered small ROAKs of their own accord, I didn’t feel proud to write them as an example of a ROAK. They did not take a great deal of thought or effort on my part. I don’t necessarily think a ROAK requires a person to go extraordinarily out of their way in terms of time or money, or make a huge sacrifice, but I do believe it should be an act that takes some thought, cheer, and clear intention.

The ROAK I can think of is treating a friend when we went out for coffee. I didn’t need to, I just wanted to. With my March goals, I planned do some more ROAKs and today’s blog challenge prompt has motivated me to work on that goal all the more.

What’s the last random act of kindness you completed?

Leave a Reply

