new year’s all year: 2013 endpoints and january goals

Last January, I introduced the 2012 New Year’s All Year Challenge, in which I made broad “endpoint” goals for the year and explained that each month I would make specific small goals that are stepping stones to my endpoint aims. Each month I also reflected on the previous month’s goals and efforts. I recently reflected on the 2012 challenge, and I believe it went well. I didn’t meet all of my endpoint goals 100%, but I made progress on each and every one of them, which to me means the challenge was a success and worth the time I devoted to it. And, of course, inspired me to do it again this year!

 

Source: 7428.net via Kelly on Pinterest

 

So, since I am doing the challenge again, there are two steps I must take. First, I have to identify the major aspects of my life right now that I want to focus on, and second, I have to make endpoint goals for them. For 2013, I will focus on the same areas as last year: health, finances, relationships, wedding planning (through July, after which Dan and I WILL BE MARRIED!!!), career, and self-enrichment. My 2013 endpoint goals are:

  • Health: meet goal weight benchmarks I have set; practice healthy habits
  • Finances: meet savings goals; spend meaningfully, not impulsively
  • Relationships: strive for balance, honesty, and kindness at all times
  • Wedding: finish planning and then carry out a wedding full of meaning, without excess, and without shortsightedness toward others
  • Career: do my best at my current position, continue pursuing full-time classroom positions, and build the swim program further
  • Self-enrichment: learn about anxiety more and implement further understanding on coping with it; specifically devote time to hobbies and activities that bring me joy

I’m very excited for these endpoint aims. I feel that they are challenging, but not overly ambitious. I learned a lot from last year’s challenge and I’m ready to knock this year out of the park!

 

That being said, my goals for January are:

  • Health: work out at least 150 minutes per week; stay hydrated
  • Finances: BUDGET and read 2 personal finance articles a week
  • Relationships: stay up-to-date/in contact with everyone
  • Wedding: So much to do! Basically carry over from December…Figure out florist/flower options and take care of it, map out honeymoon options, book a place for our picnic reception, send out save the dates for wedding day and picnic, and look for bridesmaid and flower girl dresses.
  • Career: be the most positive and helpful presence possible in the buildings I am in; stay prepared and ahead for swim planning
  • Self-enrichment: set aside at least two hours a week to myself to log off everything & relax, NO guilt!

 

Have you set any goals for 2013, or just set any goals in general? What are your plans to reach them?

4 comments

  1. Melissa · January 5, 2013

    Happy 2013! I was just checking in on some old blog favorites as I prep to return to blogging, and am loving the new look of your blog! It’s such a lovely idea to come up with specific monthly goals that fall under the umbrella of overall resolutions. In 2012, my resolution was to “live colorfully,” which made for a wonderful whirlwind of a year. This year, my goal is to “infuse happiness” into daily life, with the goal of facilitating all sort of positivity!

    Like

    • Kelly · January 22, 2013

      Yay I am glad you are back to blogging!! I’ve missed you! I love “infuse happiness,” what a great mantra!!

      Like

  2. Northern style exposure · January 14, 2013

    I wish I could set such great goals!

    Like

    • Kelly · January 22, 2013

      You totally can! I set strong goals, but I don’t always achieve them. Haha. It’s the journey that matters!

      Like

Leave a Reply

