read it: death, taxes, and a french manicure

Source: goodreads.com via Kelly on Pinterest

 

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Review: I greatly enjoy chick lit, and as of late, have become hooked on mysteries, as well. I recently discovered the chick lit-style “Death and Taxes”  series by Diane Kelly, which are mysteries about Dallas resident Tara Holloway, a special agent with the IRS who loves gardening, tax law, the second amendment, and manicures. I got the first book, Death, Taxes, and a French Manicure, on a whim from a Kindle Daily Deal, and I’m super glad I did! It was a little cheesy and romance novel-like at times, but it was also hilarious, kept me guessing, and entertained and inspired me with excellent portrayals of strong women. Kelly doesn’t shy away from giving plenty of detail as to what rules and regulations the white collar crimes are violating, but explains the financial concepts in readable and engaging terms. Tara is an extremely likable character, a heroine you can root for without reservation: intelligent and quirky, responsible yet daring, and tough but girly. Each of the supporting characters are well-developed and entertaining, including Tara’s love interest. I wanted to buy the second novel immediately after finishing the first, but I managed to restrain myself by using the purchase as motivation for achieving some goals. I am definitely looking forward sitting down sometime soon with Death, Taxes, and a Skinny No-Whip Latte and some Starbucks of my own!

Have you ever read the Death and Taxes series? Are you interested in it? What books have you read and loved recently?

 

Leave a Reply

