new year’s all year update: july reflections and august goals

In January I introduced the 2012 New Year’s All Year Challenge, in which I made broad “endpoint” goals for the year and explained that each month I will make specific small goals that are stepping stones to my endpoint aims. Each month I will also reflect on the previous month’s goals and efforts.

 

 

July goals:

  • Health: reevaluate goals/change in habits for healthy eating and try each of the nine classes at my gym at least once
  • Finances: complete the Take Control Bootcamp through LearnVest
  • Relationships: don’t judge others
  • Wedding: revisit/revise complete wedding to-do list and start knocking things off! (particularly photographer, DJ, and bridal party wear)
  • Career: apply for full-time positions as they get posted and continue reading nonfiction books and articles
  • Self-enrichment: practice gratitude

July reflections:

Health: I met with my nutritionist again and we revamped my eating guidelines so they offered more variety and flexibility, but still promoted good habits and a healthy calorie count. I did not try all nine classes at my gym at least once. I think that might have been a little too ambitious for attempting in one month, at least a month in which I worked evenings a lot.  I did try three of the nine classes: kick (kickboxing), centergy (yoga/pilates mix), and group power (strength training). Kick and centergy were awesome, but group power was pretty rough on my knees, particularly the one I had surgery on several years ago. I think I’ll try that one again when I’ve lost some weight and grown a bit stronger. Finances: I did not complete the Take Control bootcamp. I did read a lot of articles on LearnVest about student loans and how to manage paying them back, which helped me feel more in control. Relationships: don’t judge others. I didn’t do the best with this goal this month, though when I started having petty thoughts I would recognize why it was wrong and stop. Wedding: Our wedding plans changed in a big way this month. Our budget changed, so our wedding plans had to adjust accordingly. We needed to change halls, so that took precedent over looking for photographers or DJs, and great new hall was found! : )  Career: I did well with applying for jobs and reading articles and nonfiction books. Self-enrichment: I struggled with practicing gratitude at times, but I always tried to reflect and focus on the positive.

 

Source: quotebites.com via Kelly on Pinterest

 

 

August goals:

  • Health: continue practicing new healthy eating habits and try the remaining six classes at my gym
  • Finances: continue to read more about finances through LearnVest and complete a bootcamp (Take Control or Getting Hitched)
  • Relationships: don’t judge others and carry out little kindnesses
  • Wedding: Find a photographer!!!
  • Career: apply for full-time positions as they get posted, start planning out pre-season plans for 2012-13 swim season, and review educational methods and theories
  • Self-enrichment: practice gratitude

 

Leave a Reply

