musings: each day is an investment

Hello, everyone! How was your weekend? Mine was filled with hot days guarding at pool and plenty of relaxing and trying to stay cool at home.

Today was a rough day for me, full of ups and downs. While I definitely had little beautiful moments of laughter, family, and friendship, I also was super stressed and had two anxiety attacks. In one day. That hasn’t happened to me in a long time. By the end of the day, I was just repeating to myself what’s basically become my life mantra over the past couple months: keep moving forward.

Then, tonight, while on Pinterest, I found this:

 

I really like this idea. It’s not saying, “You only live once! Do crazy and wild and extraordinary things every day to make it count!” It’s saying, “Assume you’re going to be around for a long time. What do you want from that long life? Is what you’re doing today going to get you there?”

I’ve seen a simple quote similar to the sentiment above before: “What you do today is important because you are exchanging your life for it – (unknown).” But for some reason, the idea of exchanging my day for something didn’t stick with me. For me, the idea of exchange seems fleeting, like, “I’ll trade you my cherry lollipop for your grape one.” But the idea of investment – what I do day is building something certain in my future – really is staying with me.

It seems like a really obvious idea: “Yes, if I work today it will put more money in my bank account. Yes, if I eat well and work out my health will improve.” I know those things, and I’ve often thought about life in that manner. I’ve read things about living life with purpose, and while it did motivate me to be more conscious of my choices, it seemed like such an all-encompassing idea, such a weighty word. So if I’m not being productive, I’m not living with purpose, right?  Am I working hard enough? Am I using my time well? But the idea of each day as investment doesn’t mean each day is necessarily productive in the idea that you are knocking things off you’re to-do list and meeting goals. It means you are determining your future, for better or worse. If you aren’t concerned with your health, you may invest your time in eating badly and sitting around. If you want to be happy, you probably invest your time in a hobby that makes you happy.

The words above say, “The clock is running. Make the most of today.” I think that’s a wonderful thought, to make every day as positive as possible, and when the day runs out, you get to start over. Every day you get more time. Invest it. Build your future. Keep moving forward.

 

One comment

  1. Katie · July 13, 2012

    Love this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

