get fit get strong: the color run

This past Saturday I completed an event called The Color Run. Basically, it’s a 5K held in various locations across the country in order to raise funds for each city’s charity of choice. However, the event is not timed and no prizes are given out. Instead, about every kilometer there is a different “color zone” and the race’s staff throws colored powder at you. By the end of the race, you’re four different colors. At the finish line, there is a countdown and everyone throws colored powder in the air to create a gigantic color cloud…and you get even more colorful, like I was in the picture above! In order to participate in the event, you had to register in a team of four or more. It’s not a relay or anything like that, but it makes the event more of a fun and friendly atmosphere – especially because you get to pick your team name, which is fun!

I registered as a member of Gryffindor with my friend Sarah (pictured above) and some of her sorority sisters. My team mainly walked the event, though we did run (and jump and dance and roll) through the color zones (I’d say something like 1/3-1/4 of the participants walked the event…there were over 8,000 people, so it’s hard to tell for sure!). Afterwards, we took lots of photos, got dusted off (somewhat) by leafblowers via the event staff, and ate lunch. Once I got home, the powder came off pretty easily in the shower. There was some blue on my skin for a couple days…but only because it was the only color that I rolled around in on the ground! A tiny bit of green was in my hair still, too, in its brightest blondest spot (my hair is medium blonde, so very light blonde hair probably would retain the powder longer). It all was gone within a couple of days and showers, though. I did have a moderate migraine for most of the day afterward. I wasn’t sure if I was dehydrated, having caffeine withdrawal, really tired, etc. I tried my usual migraine remedies and the headache wouldn’t quit. I think it might have been from inhaling lots of the powder, as I am sensitive to things like that and was spitting colored salvia after every color zone. Nonetheless, I truly had a blast and I’m glad I did it! Here are photos of Gryffindor before and after the event:

 

 

For more details on The Color Run, read its official “About” page, check out its Pinterest and Facebook, and watch its videos.

*Photos courtesy of my friend Sarah! : )

Leave a Reply

