new year’s all year challenge: may reflections and june goals

In January I introduced the 2012 New Year’s All Year Challenge, in which I made broad “endpoint” goals for the year and explained that each month I will make specific small goals that are stepping stones to my endpoint aims. Each month I will also reflect on the previous month’s goals and efforts. I know I’m a bit a lot late with publishing this month’s post, but I did make my June goals already and have been working on them. Anyway, here they are:

 

 

May goals:

  • Health: learn more about healthy eating and train for 5K
  • Finances: keep saving money and spend smarter
  • Relationships: be less selfish in my thoughts and actions
  • Wedding: work on save-the-dates, research wedding day photographers, and research DJs
  • Career: do well advising swimming intramurals and begin applying for full-time positions as they get posted
  • Self-enrichment: cook and bake more

 

Reflections on May goals:

I was hit-and-miss with my May goals. I visited a nutritionist and started altering my diet accordingly. I ran a few times but nowhere near as much or as consistently as I had planned. I was rather low on money due to big car repairs and a (gulp) speeding ticket. I didn’t work on any of the wedding to-do list, but we did get engagement photos taken! Career-wise, I did well advising swimming and applying for full-time jobs (I’ve had some interviews already! Here’s hoping something comes about, knock on wood!). I also finished off the school year for a teacher who needed surgery and did well with that experience. I didn’t cook or bake any new recipes, though.

 

 

June goals:

  • Health: be more consistent with new eating habits and work out more
  • Finances: become more financially literate
  • Relationships: don’t judge others
  • Wedding: research wedding day photographers and make a “short list”
  • Career: apply for full-time positions as they get posted and continue reading nonfiction books and articles
  • Self-enrichment: practice gratitude

 

Leave a Reply

