new year’s all year challenge: april reflections and may goals

In January I introduced the 2012 New Year’s All Year Challenge, in which I made broad “endpoint” goals for the year and explained that each month I will make specific small goals that are stepping stones to my endpoint aims. Each month I will also reflect on the previous month’s goals and efforts.

 

Source: observando.net via Kelly on Pinterest

 

 

April goals:

  • Health: continue with March goals and train for 5K (I’m doing two in June!)
  • Finances: keep saving money
  • Relationships: be less selfish in my thoughts and actions
  • Wedding: schedule engagement photos, work on save-the-dates, and research remaining needed vendors/services
  • Career: look for professional development opportunities and do well advising swimming intramurals
  • Self-enrichment: get trained and start volunteering at the animal shelter

Reflections on April goals:

I did pretty decently with my goals for April. I continued to do well with my health goals from March (staying hydrated and getting enough sleep). I began training for the 5K I have signed up for on June 23rd. Dan ran with me, then I went for a run by myself. The run by myself felt fantastic the day of (until the end of it, during which my calf started cramping horribly). For the next week and half, I had a lot of trouble walking – horrible shin splints and calf pain on stairs. I think I pushed myself too hard too soon (lots of hill sprints). Maybe I didn’t stretch correctly, either. I just need to pace myself. I did well with saving money for upcoming expenses. As for being less selfish in my thoughts and actions, I think I did better than I did in March or earlier in the year, but still can do better. Dan and I scheduled engagement photos (by a great college friend Kim) for the end of May. I can’t wait! Professionally, a lot went on in the month of April and I’m pretty excited. Lastly, I got trained for volunteering at the local animal shelter and have been twice already. I love working with the cats there – so adorable!

 

 

Source: tumblr.com via Kelly on Pinterest

 

 

May goals:

  • Health: learn more about healthy eating and train for 5K
  • Finances: keep saving money and spend smarter
  • Relationships: be less selfish in my thoughts and actions
  • Wedding: work on save-the-dates, research wedding day photographers, and research DJs
  • Career: do well advising swimming intramurals and begin applying for full-time positions as they get posted
  • Self-enrichment: cook and bake more

 

Did you have goals for April? How’d they go? What goals do you have for May?

 

 

Leave a comment