use it: nail polish

Hello, everyone! Did you have a great weekend? I did! I got to spend a week straight with Dan, which was so nice. We hadn’t been able to spend that much time together in awhile. Then to have such a nice week followed up with my favorite holiday and plenty of time spent with my family; it was just perfect! : )  This week I am house-sitting and enjoying the down time that comes with it – including Law & Order: SVU marathons and painting my nails. As I’ve mentioned, I was never big on beauty products and trends until recently, and I’ve become especially addicted to painting my nails. Here are my latest and most adored shades:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OPI by Nicki Minaj in Metallic 4 Life: I really love this shade. It’s a nice deep black, and while I wouldn’t normally wear black polish, I’m drawn to it due to its flecks of cool silver glitter in different sizes and shapes.The color combo is sleek, simple, and sexy. It’s the perfect shade for almost any season. I’m so glad I picked it up! I recommend using three coats for a very solid look to the black base. Paired with a clear top coat, it lasts quite awhile!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Revlon Nail Enamel in Minted: Pastels are are pretty popular this season, especially mint! I was excited to find this shade in the aisles of Walgreens one afternoon while on a magazine pick-up trip. This color went on pretty easily. I put on roughly two shades of this color, and then swiped on a clear top coat. Again, it lasted well. Seeing the color on my nails always made me smile, and I got a bunch of compliments on it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Essie in No Pre-Nup: I found this shade in Ulta. It seems to be a more “rare” color, since I’ve never seen it at Target or Walgreens, and online it says to visit a local salon for the color. I thought it was a more solid color of a thicker liquid, but I was actually pleasantly surprised at how diluted the color and polish itself is. It’s a nice nude pink, with the pink undertones becoming more clear each additional coat. I loved how the shade looked with three coats, and it was so easy to apply. Plus, I just love the name for some reason! It’s cheeky.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Essie in No Pre-Nup + Essie Luxe Effects in A Cut Above: After I applied No Pre-Nup, I applied A Cut Above. A Cut Above is a gorgeous, deep rosy pink glitter, whose sizes vary even more than the glitter flecks in OPI’s Metallic 4 Life. A Cut Above is a much more loose glitter style than As Gold As it Gets, which is much more gel-like. I added one layer of A Cut Above and let it dry completely. I then added a second layer. However, when I added the second layer, instead of swiping it on normally like I had the first layer, I lightly dabbed and then swept at the spots on my nails that had no or little glitter already. Finally, after the second layer of A Cut Above dried, I added a clear top coat. I adore this polish combo. The pink nude doesn’t take away from the pink glitter, but rather enhances it, and every time I look at my nails, I feel like I’m looking at pink disco balls. Instant mood boost!

 

What shades have you been loving lately? I can’t get enough of this season pastels (lilac is at the top of my wish list!), glitter top coats (clearly), and the Hunger Games Capitol Colors China Glaze collection. I also cannot wait for OPI’s upcoming Minnie Mouse and Amazing Spider-man collections – they look awesome!

 

 

One comment

  1. Katie · April 11, 2012

    I love that you’re trying all these new colors. 🙂 I’m a fan of my teal, hot pink, and black lately. The orange I bought isn’t orange enough and just makes me look like an Ooompa Loompa! 🙂 I’m thinking about doing some type of french manicure with the teal and black or teal and pink, though. I’ll let you know if I do. Have you tried the crackle polishes at all? (http://www.target.com/p/Sally-Hansen-Crackle-Overcoat-Fractured-Foil/-/A-13982053#?lnk=sc_qi_detailbutton) I’m considering them, but I have a feeling I won’t use them much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

