new year’s all year challenge: march reflections and april goals

In January I introduced the 2012 New Year’s All Year Challenge, in which I made broad “endpoint” goals for the year and explained that each month I will make specific small goals that are stepping stones to my endpoint aims. Each month I will also reflect on the previous month’s goals and efforts.

 

 

 

My goals for March were: 

  • Health: get enough sleep; stay hydrated
  • Finances: keep saving money
  • Relationships: complete as many little acts of kindness as possible
  • Wedding: continue researching and meeting with vendors and start booking them
  • Career: read more articles and books related to my content area (social studies)
  • Self-enrichment: volunteer (hopefully at the local animal shelter)

Reflections on March goals:

I did decently with my March goals. I did great with my health goals. Every now and then I didn’t get enough sleep, but I would feel so crappy the next day I would make sure to get back on track. Staying hydrated helped my energy levels a lot as well. I did great with saving money (though I certainly could do better). I did not do as many little acts of kindness as I wanted to or could have, and I don’t have any excuse for it. I just didn’t devote enough thought to it, which is disappointing. I have such great people in my life and I should show my love and appreciation more. The wedding goals, however, were met awesomely! We officially set a date for July 2013 and booked both the church and the hall!! As for my career goals for March, I didn’t read any books related to social studies, but I did get back into reading articles, which was nice. Lastly, while I didn’t volunteer at the local animal shelter in March, I did apply and get my training scheduled for the beginning of this month. I will be working with the cats since it is “kitten season” – I can’t wait!

 

 

 

April goals:

  • Health: continue with March goals and train for 5K (I’m doing two in June!)
  • Finances: keep saving money
  • Relationships: be less selfish in my thoughts and actions
  • Wedding: schedule engagement photos, work on save-the-dates, and research remaining needed vendors/services
  • Career: look for professional development opportunities and do well advising swimming intramurals
  • Self-enrichment: get trained and start volunteering at the animal shelter

Do you have any goals for 2012? How are they going? A friend from college and fraternity brother, Katie, has joined in on the challenge. Be sure to check out her goals and support her! And you join the challenge or make any sort of goal, leave me a comment or shoot me an e-mail! I’d love to hear what others are doing and offer my support : )

 

 

One comment

  1. Katie · April 4, 2012

    Kelly!
    Thanks for the mention! It gives me extra motivation to stay on track! 🙂 Are you doing any running plan? I LOVED couch to 5K, but if you’re already signed up for some, I’m guessing you’re a little beyond that. Just thought I’d mention it. I’m going to ease myself back into exercising with some Zumba, but I plan to use C25K to get back into running…I’d LOVE to do some 5Ks. Did I see you’re doing the Color Run?! If so, awesome! It looks amazing!

    I read a book the other day called Teach Like Your Hair Is On Fire. I recommend it if you get some spare time to read (ha!). The only thing I didn’t really like, which isn’t to blame the author, is that it’s based on his 5th grade gen.ed. classroom, which is a lot different than my K & 1 who receive services in Sp.Ed. I still got a lot of valuable information from it. I know it’s not Social Studies related, but it IS career related. 🙂

    As for your little acts of kindness, every time I read your blog updates about goals, it helps me with mine, so consider that a random act of kindness. It truly does help to have someone else with daily goals so open! 🙂

    Hope you’re doing well! Let me know if you ever want to rant and rave about wedding details! 🙂


    Katie

    Like

Leave a Reply

